Ratings based on 1,894 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cypress CA

Posted Oct 12, 2019
Really cool older property right on the sand. Clean. Remodeled rooms, great views, nice beach bar
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2019
Love the beach, staff was awesome. No ice machines sucked
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review. Our staff and location are two of our best assets. I'm sorry you had trouble with the ice machine. Please come and visit with us again soon. Kind regards, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Posted Oct 3, 2019
We have stayed here several times now. This time was't the best. The ac unit was loosely plugged into the wall with a 220 outlet. Way too accessible for my children which could easily kill them if they messed with it. Secondly the shower was super clean except for the nasty black corner and all the nooks where the wipe of their rags didnt quite reach. I grabbed a q tip to see if the black gunk was stained on and it was very much not. It wiped right off. So gross. And also the metal covers over the wheels of the desk chair were all mangled and resulted in a large raw scratch on top of my 7 yr olds foot and we told the front desk and nothing was done. We let them know the next day that it at least needs to be removed because it was a danger to our children. Finally they removed it and replaced it with a foldable chair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Jge, I'm sorry to hear that your recent stay was not as good as what you have experienced in the past. We certainly want loyal repeat guests to continue coming to Tides and making it their home away from home on Folly. I do apologize for your room not being properly cleaned and inspected prior to arrival. Hopefully you will allow us to host your family again soon and make up for these shortcomings Kind regards, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Summerville, SC

Posted Oct 1, 2019
We were happy with the size and location of the room. It was clean and had a great view of the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Sue, Thank you for writing a great review. The view is spectacular and I'm happy to say all of our rooms are ocean view. Please come and visit with us again soon! Kind regards, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2019
Only down was one of the mattresses in room. Ok but need replacing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for all 5s! I'm sorry the mattress put a slight damper on your stay, but it sounds like you had a great visit otherwise. Best, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2019
This property has not been updated in years. For the price I got an elevator that didn’t work. The building itself was in need of serious renovation. However the front door staff. The guys at the front door were fabulous. Always a kind word. They were great.TIDES needs a definite renovation at these prices. I’ve paid a lot less for way better accommodations
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are constantly working to improve the property. This year we added several new amenities and have many more improvements to come. Also, thank you for the kind words regarding our Bellmen. Our staff is one of our best assets. Kind regards, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2019
Great location. Beach front near pier and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come and visit with us again soon. Kind regards, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville NC.

Posted Sep 20, 2019
Great service! Amazing view of the beach!. Clean room. Had a really nice pool area. Only complaint is the balcony door would get jammed while opening and closing
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Kyle, Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. I'm so glad you experienced great service and enjoyed our amenities. The balcony doors are heavy and require the tracks to be greased occasionally. I'm sorry your room had that issue. Please come and visit with us again soon. Kind regards, Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg VA

Posted Sep 17, 2019
Great location and very friendly staff. Room was clean and well appointed upon arrival. However stay over service was poor. Little things ie no coffee one day. No cups the next and no service one day requiring repeated calls to have the room made up by nearly 4:00 pm. Was told they were short staffed?
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Dan, Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff and rooms. With regard to your stayover service, you as our guest should never be informed of internal issues. Requests should be handled promptly, period. I'm sorry that you experienced these lapses during your stay. Please come and visit with us again soon and allow us to serve you better. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2019
This was my worst experiences staying at the tides - really upsetting ! Fridge didnt cool for 3 days Remote wouldnt work for turning channels forward and backwards Cleaning services was horrible - toilet didnt work - water in both sink and tub didnt drain - bed spreads were dingy - chairs torn up - so unhappy because i always normally love folly :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2019 by Tarleton McManus - Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Ashleigh, I'm disappointed to read your review as this is not the type of experience we want our guests to have at Tides. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact me at the hotel. Kind regards,